

Academic Affairs Meeting Minutes

Date: 04/15/2019, Monday 3:30-4:30 PM

Location: Max Merrill Room, Library 221

Present (voting members):	Absent (voting members):
Jessica Giglio (<i>Transfer Faculty</i>) – Chair	TBD (ASCOCC representative)
Michael Hansen (Faculty at Large)	
John Liccardo (<i>Transfer Faculty</i>)	
Ken Swartwout <i>(CTE Faculty)</i>	
Wayne Yeatman (CTE Faculty)	
Amy Harper (Faculty Forum President)	
Barbara Bellinger (Classified Representative)	
Present (non-voting members):	Absent (non-voting members):
Jeff Floyd (IT Representative)	Tyler Hayes (Director Admissions & Registrar)
Krista Leaders (Committee Specialist)	Betsy Julian (VPI)
Vickery Viles (Director of Curriculum & Assessment)	Paula Simone (CTE Council & ChairMoot Representative)
Stacey Donohue (Shared Governance Committee)	

Meeting began @ 3:30

(Note: Approvals and Action items written in red.)

Unfinished Business

- 1) Review Academic Affairs Committee minutes from 3/18/19
 - a) John Liccardo motioned to approve, Barbara Bellinger 2nd, motion passed unanimously
- 2) Review Curriculum Committee minutes from 3/12, 3/19, 4/2, 4/9
- 3) Second Reading: Academic Advising Policy Revision
 - a) John Liccardo motioned to approve, Michael Hansen 2nd, motion passed unanimously.

New Business

- 1) First Reading: Awards/Residency Requirement Proposal
 - a) G-30-7 and G30-5 in the GPM need revision to reflect the change in the definition of awards and residency associated with them.
 - b) Residency is the number of credits required to be completed at COCC in order to receive an award.
 - c) Barbara Bellinger motioned to approve, John Liccardo 2nd, motion passed unanimously.

2) First Reading: Credit Hour Policy

a) The accrediting NWCCU agency requires the institution (COCC) to have an official credit hour policy that is in alignment with the federal definition.



- b) The proposed credit policy will require approval by Instructional Deans to certify the course meets the credit hour standard.
- c) Online courses, when instruction is less clearly tied to contact hours, will have evidence of equivalency reviewed by Chairs that the minimum hours of student engagement are being met.
- d) Barbara Bellinger motioned to approve, Wayne Yeatman 2nd, motion passed unanimously with minor changes.
- 3) Discussion Item: 2019-2020 Academic Affairs Chair
 - a) Wayne Yeatman nominated John Liccardo for 19-20 Chair. Michael Hansen 2nd, nomination approved unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 4:04 pm. Next Meeting: is scheduled for April 29, 3:30 – 4:30, Max Merrill room