

Academic Affairs Meeting Minutes Date: 01/06/2020, Monday 3:30-4:30 PM Location: Max Merrill Room, Library 221

Present (voting members):

Present (non-voting members):

Steve Broadbent (IT Representative)

Krista Leaders (Committee Specialist)

John Liccardo (*Transfer Faculty*) – Chair Michael Hansen (*Faculty at Large*) Dan Alberghetti (*CTE Faculty*) Wayne Yeatman (*CTE Faculty*) Carolyn Schmidt (*Classified Representative*) Kirsten Hostetler (*Transfer Faculty*) Amy Harper (*Faculty Forum President*) Betsy Julian (*VPI*)

Tyler Hayes (Director Admissions & Registrar)

Vickery Viles (Director of Curriculum & Assessment) Aimee Metcalf (Shared Governance Committee)

Absent (voting members): Julia Russell (ASCOCC representative)

Absent (non-voting members): David Schappe (CTE Council) Jane Morrow (Chairmoot Representative)

Guests

Owen Murphy

Meeting began @ 3:30

(Note: Approvals and Action items written in red.)

Unfinished Business

- 1. Review Academic Affairs Committee minutes from 12/2/19
 - a. Amy Harper motioned to approve, Michael Hansen 2nd, motion passed unanimously with suggested edits
- 2. Review Curriculum Committee minutes from 12/10/19
 - a. Reviewed

New Business

- 1. Action Item: Proposal to create OER task force (Tina Hovekamp)-1st reading
 - a. Develop a plan to increase the number of courses that offer low-cost, no-cost book options in the class schedule.
 - b. Suggested members, Julie Downing and others who have participated in conferences.
 - c. Michael Hansen motioned for Tina to develop a specific charge for the task force and include the specific members. Wayne Yeatman seconded.
- 2. Action Item: Proposal to create Sustainability Course Designation Taskforce (Owen Murphy)— 2nd reading
 - a. The charge of the task force will influence who should be on the task force.
 - b. Suggestion to create two task forces addressing two charges which would be comprised of members
 - i. Develop learning outcomes and criteria for sustainability-designated courses.



- 1. Taskforce comprised of Matt Novak, Ron Boldenow, Science Faculty, Annemarie Hamlin, A&R, Student Services, Curriculum, and Owen Murphy.
- ii. Develop a model for how the college will establish a college wide sustainability course designation.
- iii. Betsy, Tyler, Vickery, Annemarie Hamlin will determine the procedural recommendations. Discussion ensued regarding the options for Sustainability; course setup, pros, cons, ease of implementation and what is best for students.
- iv. Committee will make a tentative decision by the next meeting on the option to implement the sustainability courses pending what criteria the task force decides on.
- c. Amy motioned to approve for 2nd reading with the removal of the first responsibility and the addition of determining the process of initial course approval and on an ongoing basis. Betsy amended the motion with a change in the composition of the task force, removing Vickery and Tyler and replacing them with a representative from Student Services. Wayne Yeatman seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Action Item: Academic Master Plan (Betsy)-2nd reading

- a. Betsy presented the leads for the Academic Master Plan Initiatives
 - i. PT Faculty Professional Development, Paula Simone
 - ii. OER, Tina Hovekamp
 - iii. Online Course Development Support, Michael Murphy
 - iv. Online Degrees and Certificates, Betsy Julian
 - v. Offerings at the Northern Campuses, Jeremy Green
 - vi. Promoting Universal Design, Ken Ruettgers
 - vii. CTE Advisory Committees, Ron Boldenow
 - viii. Non-Credit Workforce Training Opportunities, Glenda Lantis
 - ix. Major Transfer Maps, Betsy Julian
 - x. Academic Web Page Redesign, Vickery Viles
 - xi. Tracking Program Degree Level Assessment, Vickery Viles
 - xii. Integration of Credit System with Non-credit, Jenni Newby
- b. Leads will present annual reports to Academic Affairs by November 15 each year.
- c. Kirsten Hostettler motioned to approve, Michael Hansen 2nd, motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 pm. Next Meeting: is January 27, 2020 3:30 – 4:30, Max Merrill room